أخبار ساخنة

Carragher picks the 10 best forwards in Premier League history

 Carragher picks the 10 best forwards in Premier League history

Jamie Carragher, a former Liverpool defender, named our Egyptian star Mohamed Salah among the top 10 forwards in the history of the Premier League.

Most of Carragher's choices fell on the attacker's number "9" spearhead, despite this, he chose Mohamed Salah among the list.

Carragher explained that Salah was the exception during his list due to his statistics and goal-scoring, although he is not a typical "9" striker.

The list of players is as follows

  1. Thierry Henry (Arsenal)
  2.  Sergio Aguero (Manchester City).
  3.  Alan Shearer (Newcastle United).
  4.  Didier Drogba (Chelsea).
  5.  Wayne Rooney (Manchester United).
  6.  Mohamed Salah (Liverpool).
  7. Andy Cole (Manchester United / Manchester City).
  8.  Luis Suarez (Liverpool).
  9. Dwight Yorke (Manchester United / Aston Villa).
  10.  Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)

Carragher said about his choice of Salah during his article in the British newspaper "The Telegraph": "Salah is on this list and unlike any other player on this list, he was not, and never will be, striker No. (9)."

  • "It was not like the attackers who share the depth, like Eric Cantona and Dennis Bergkamp," he added.

  • He continued: "But Salah should be an exception because his main goal during his career at Anfield was to score, and his statistics were outside the range since joining Liverpool."

  • He continued: "In each of his three seasons at Anfield, he won either the Golden Boot, the Champions League, or the English Premier League."

  • He concluded: "Perhaps Salah does it again (winning the Golden Boot) in 2021. We often talk about Virgil van Dijk as the deal that changed the course of Liverpool's history, but it was Salah's arrival in 2017 that started the transformation under Jurgen Klopp's leadership."